Committee of Ministers

The Council of Europe is the continent’s leading human rights organization, founded in 1949. It has 47 members states, 28 of which are members of the European Union, covering more than 800 million citizens. It has headquarters in Strasbourg, France and its main goal is to defend human rights, to develop continent-wide agreements to standardise member countries’ social and legal practices, to promote awareness of a European Identity based on shared values and cutting across different cultures. All member States of the Council of Europe have signed up to the European Convention on Human Rights, whose stated goal is to promote human rights, democracy and the rule of law. The promotion and safeguarding of these values are the main goals of the Council of Europe and give the legal basis to the Council of Europe to find shared solutions to major problems such as terrorism, organised crime and corruption, cybercrime, bioethics and cloning, violence against children and women, and trafficking in human beings. Co-operation between all member states is the only way to solve the major problems facing society today.

Committee of Ministers

The Committee of Ministers is the Council’s decision-making body. Each country is being represented by its Minister of Foreign Affairs or by their diplomatic representative.

The Committee of Ministers drafts the agenda of the Council of Europe and approves its budget. In collaboration with the Parliamentary Assembly, safeguards the Council’s fundamental values and monitors member states’ compliance with their undertakings.

The Committee of Ministers’ role expands in a triple context:

  1. Firstly, it enables the Governments to express on equal terms their national approaches to the Europeans’ problems
  2. Furthermore, CM performs as the collective forum where European responses to these challenges are worked out and
  3. It functions as the guardian of the values for which the Council of Europe exists.

Please publish modules in offcanvas position.